The Latest Jamberry Application Test

I feel the need to be the OFFICIAL tester of all Jamberry applications that claim to be THE BEST WAY EVER. So when I ran across this video on Pinterest, I had to give it a shot.

Here’s the breakdown if you don’t want to watch the video.

What you need:

– Jams (duh)

– Spoon scoop cuticle remover – like this one on Amazon for around $6

cuticle

– Alcohol wipes or rub

– Little scissors

– Rubber cuticle pusher

– Heat source (either the Jamberry heater, your hair dryer, or I’ve heard of girls using toasters and stoves – whatever ya got)

– Optional – Cuticle dissolver

cuticle remover

I was skeptical. If you’ve read my other posts, I’ve got wonky nails and I was just sure this was great for other girls, but not me… I was totally and happily wrong.

I started with a good cleaning of my cuticles using the spoon scoop since Krysten’s video claims that most of Jamberry’s bubbles are caused by those invisible cuticles that actually surround the entire nail that most of us miss.

I used Sally Hanson’s Instant Cuticle Dissolver in this step because I thought if one thing was good, two might be better? I bought this at Ulta for about $7 and I’m not sure how much it helped since I haven’t tried the process without it, but it did remove ALL of my cuticles fully.

Next I trimmed my wraps down because as I’ve stated before and will reiterate here: SMALLER IS ALWAYS BETTER. Trust me. If a little natural nail shows on the sides, no one will ever notice it. It’s way better than peeling edges.

Then I used my alcohol wipes, my heater, and applied my Jams as usual, using the rubber pusher to apply pressure.

Next up, I tried the somewhat barbaric step of heating up metal and then holding it against my nail. You take the spoon scoop and hold it in front of your heat source and then press it down against your nail bed rubbing down as you go. It really wasn’t as bad as I initially thought and it actually did an excellent job of sealing down the edges. Just don’t heat it up too long, because seriously…it’s metal, against your skin, and it’s hot. Be smart, people.

So I used the old Gold Glitter wraps (before they were redesigned to be thinner and easier to apply). I thought I might as well run this application test through the ringer. I am absolutely happy to report that on Day Two I have ZERO bubbles or lifting anywhere. I will have to update to let everyone know how long the wraps actually last on my nails, but I’m pretty happy so far.

This method may be my new go-to over the vent method because it requires less steps and doesn’t leave me with extra edges that could get caught on clothes or hair. Please give this a shot and comment to let me know if this works for you! If you need some free samples to experiment with, go to my sample request page and I’ll get them to you right away!

UPDATE: Day 3 and my wraps are still picture perfect!
image

 

Here’s a video I made using the application used in this tutorial. Be warned: It’s 15 minutes because I explain some of the products I use, but I think there’s some useful info in there.
https://www.wevideo.com/view/265187471

5 thoughts on “The Latest Jamberry Application Test

  1. Pingback: Using Vents in Jamberry Wraps for Curved Nails | charmingly capricious

    • Katrina,
      I do! The vents worked great, but I hated having the extra pieces on the sides that got caught on things. This way isn’t any more time consuming and I feel it works just as well. In fact, I just did it again last night and was just admiring them this morning and how there are still no bubbles. Have you tried it yet?

      Like

  2. So I also have those super curvy nails and have been using that baseball method. I have a problem with the wraps lifting around all the edges. I have used jamberry cuticle remover in my prep process too, and also scrubbing my nails with dawn dish soap before using rubbing alcohol to remove any remaining oil. I am having a hard time getting the wraps to seal at my cuticle. I did find a spoon pusher this weekend. How long do you use it when you’re pushing against the wrap?

    Like

    • Hi Laura! Sounds like you’ve tried just about everything! I know the feeling… I hold it down until I can feel it cool off, so probably a few seconds. Also, it can be helpful to heat it up again and hold it at an angle at the tip. That should seal it. I hope this helps! It can be frustrating finding what works for you…

      Like

Leave a Reply

